Top Ten Unique Books That You Have To Check Out

 

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

For me, unique books are becoming harder and harder to find. Working as a book buyer, trends quickly become apparent and I’ll find myself exclaiming ‘not another one’ when I come across the copycat fiction. The books chosen for this list have all stayed with me, long after reading, due to their unique storyline and general, all-round awesomeness. Check them out if you get a chance!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman is sure to be a favourite for this weeks feature. Told in a series of ship logs, letters and IM chat, the format as well as the story is something I’ve never come across before. This is the first in the trilogy and makes for Intriguing reading but be warned, they are dangerously addictive and will leave you wanting more. When is the final instalment out?!?

The Wildings by Nilanjana Roy is a book obsession of mine. I can talk about it for hours to anyone who is willing to listen and I, literally, squealed for joy when I learnt it had been shortlisted for the Children’s Waterstones Prize. I hope this has raised the profile of the book a bit more, I feel it’s been hugely underappreciated! You can find more about why I fell in love with this book here.

Me Being Me is Exactly as Insane as You Being You by Todd Hasak-Lowy is another book told in a strange format. The narrative is a series of lists which sounds odd, but it totally works!

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler and Maria Kalman is a beautifully illustrated, poignant tale on heartbreak. Heartbreak discussions in YA are by no means unique but this book presents it in a way we have never seen before. If you haven’t read this yet, make sure you grab a copy!

The Dark Days Club by Allison Goodman was first pitched to me as ‘Jane Austen meets Cassandra Clare’ which, at first, had me shaking my head in dismay. But I soon stopped being so judgey when I started reading. It is unrelentingly good with exceptional detail of the Regency period and it had me hooked. I am still to read the follow up but I;m sure, fingers crossed, it’s just as good.

I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson is the first book I have ever read with a cerebral palsy character, let alone as the main voice, hence why this book is unique. I found it enlightening and it certainly knocked down some of my assumptions about people with cerebral palsy.

Life in a Fishbowl by Len Vlahos made me cry. A lot. The unique premise of being able to sell the last few months of your life to ensure your families wellbeing is astounding. It held me in a vice-like grip from page one and I will never forget the explosive grief I felt at the final few chapters.

Front Lines by Michael Grant takes a look at the first ever time women were allowed to fight on the front lines during WW2. The female characters truly kick butt and hold their own not only against the enemy but also against their male comrades who believe the place for women is in the home.

Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin is a wonderfully crafted novel with the unique premise of everyone knows the day they are going to die. Although a dark subject matter on the surface, Denton is a sweet and uplifting character whose story is full of heart.

Noggin by John Corey Whaley absolutely fascinated me. You guys know how much I love my science related books and Noggin takes a look at the possibility of cryogenics and head transplants. Funny yet moving, I cannot stress how enjoyable this book was. Please, please take a read. Plus, interesting fact: a real life head transplant is scheduled in eight months time!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Unique Books That You Have To Check Out

Leave a Reply

