February’s TBR Tower

This is quite an ambitious TBR pile for me considering how much I also read for work but I couldn’t help it, I’m looking forward to every single one of them. From top to bottom…

febtbrDon Quixote is my first choice of classic for this year, recommended by my father – although, thinking about it, I bet he’s only seen the film. Hopefully this will grab me enough to keep me persevering. I love the idea of reading classics more often but gosh, some can be droll. I want this to be a positive experience so fingers crossed for Don Quixote.

SPQR by Mary Beard is a one hell of a brick but I can’t wait to get stuck in! I love history, especially anything to do with Rome. I fell in love with the city when I visited a few years back and its has the most beautiful ancient buildings, monuments and ruins. And it’s everywhere! You’ll be walking down a back street them BAM – a super cool statue chilling in the most random of places. It might take me a while to get through SPQR but I’m sure I’ll be loving every page of it.

Not sure if I’ll like Cell 7 to be honest. I pretty much loathe all reality TV shows so I’m unsure on reading a book all about one. If it doesn’t grip me immediately it will have to be a DNF.

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep I know literally nothing about. I remember a couple of librarians recommending it so I’mlooking forward to it, plus I’m really intrigued as to know what exactly the trouble with goats and sheep actually is?!?

For some reason I never picked up The Girl From Everywhere when it was first released but it’s time now with the upcoming release of the sequel. Quite a few bloggers relished this one so expectations are running high.

The Pearl Thief is what I’m kicking off with this month. Elizabeth Wein has set a very high bar with Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire but I trust that this one will be just as good.

The Reason I Jump was written by Naoki Higashida when he just thirteen years old and was translated to shed light on the condition of autism in children. This has an abundance of amazing reviews, I can’t wait to get started and is also a perfect choice for ticking off a Diveristy Bingo square.

I broke my sacrilegious book rule of ‘never watch the film before you’ve read the book’ with Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them but I was desperate to see it and caved. Damn you Eddie Redmayne. But I am still looking forward to reading it due to the other book rule – ‘the book is always better than the film’.

I know I’m behind with the times but massively looking forward to the controversial Harper Lee’s Go Set A Watchman.

 

 

 

Posted in TBR

Leave a Reply

