January 2017 Reading Rundown

It’s already February and half the things I wanted to get done last month are still sat there waiting but I’ve been quite proactive on the blogging front, so I’m pretty happy overall. I’ve been enjoying reading a lot of posts  after having a following spree recently and I’ve started to interact more with other bloggers. I’ve even had a go at the old book photography – a poor go though I must admit. I’ve decided I definitely need more props in the form of new stationary.

This is my first reading rundown EVER. Every month (hopefully) I’ll be giving my thoughts on all the books I’ve read. I’ve managed to get through  a whopping sixteen titles this month and there have been some real stunners. Have you read any? Or looking forward to reading one in particular? I’d love to hear from you so please do leave a comment ^_^

collage1

I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson

This book is so blimmin’ brilliant! Jemma is a 14 year old with cerebral palsy who is fully aware of her surroundings but has no way of communicating. I was excited to have found a book where the main character is disabled, which isn’t something that you come across often in this age range but, thankfully, is becoming more and more prevalent. I loved the voice of Jemma, loved the writing style and loved, loved, loved the ending. A perfect, diverse read and my first square on the Diversity Bingo 2017 challenge (which you can have a gander at here if you are interested in playing along).

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

Of course this book is freaking awesome, what else would we expect from the wonderful Non Pratt? So full of humour (literally from the very first lines) but also a lot of tough subjects tackled in a very frank and honest way. Not sure how much I can say about Truth or Dare at this moment in time (I was lucky to have read an early manuscript) but trust me when I say YOU NEED TO HAVE THIS BOOK IN YOUR LIFE. You will want to read this as soon as it releases because the buzz from this is going to be EPIC!

If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak

Read what I had to say about this stunner of a book here. You would of thought that weeks of reading other books that this one would have been pushed to the back of my mind. NOPE. I implore you to read it – you won’t regret it.

Ink by Alice Broadway

blog2

WOWZA is this book beautiful or what?! This is a proof copy, imagine how good the finished product is going to be! It’s a must-buy simply for the cover art alone. Unlike anything I have read before, Ink is an atmospheric read perfect for any YA fan craving something new. Set in a culture where EVERYTHING is recorded on your skin, from your age to your crimes to your loves, to ensure that you have nothing to hide. Well-crafted and written in a distinctive voice, this is sure to be a hit upon publication.

Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G Thompson

Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee is a thought-provoking title that looks at kidnap, rape and abuse. This is an interesting, fast-paced read but quite harrowing in places. I did shout at this book quite a lot, so be warned, there are parts you will find VERY frustrating. This is a great pick for any fans of taut, timely thrillers.

Pavee & the Buffer Girl by Siobhan Down and Illustrated by Emma Shoard

This is a beautifully illustrated novel that is just one of many fabulous books coming from Barrington Stoke this year. You can read my thoughts on this and a few other YA titles from Barrington here.

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

This book has been celebrated widely in the YA community and for good reason. But I think maybe all the hype built it up to this impossibly huge thing so when I started it…it felt flat. I couldn’t get on with at all but will revisit later in the year and try again.

Dead Men Do Tell Tales by William R. Maples

Not sure if enjoyed is the right word here but I definitely appreciated this book. After getting over my initial shock at some of the descriptions and cases (it’s forensic anthropology, of course a lot of it is hard hitting) I began to get really in to it. Anthropology is fascinating and hugely important in solving crimes. I will definitely be reading more on this topic.

collage3

The Bookshop Girl by Sylvia Bishop

This book is seriously a dream come true for the obsessive book lover. A raffle is being held with the ultimate prize – The Montgomery Book Emporium, a magical bookshop filled to the brim with majestic rooms and thousands of books! This is a cracking story with well-crafted characters including Gunther, a loony oddball of a cat. It also has a clear love of books shining throughout – what better message to send to children?!

A Whisper of Horses by Zillah Bethell

This dystopian is not actually about horses as much as you may think. Serendipity wants to get over the Emm Twenty Five wall to travel to Whales, where there are rumours of horses, even though they were believed to have died out long ago. Serendipity follows her dreams and encounters a few issues – to say the least – among the way. Perfect for any upper KS2 reader, boys included despite the cover treatment.

Catlantis by Anna Starobinets

blog1

I loved the playful language and the memorable storyline of Catlantis but some parts seemed rather slow. If you are into your cat literature (and there has been an abundance of this over the last 6 months) then you should definitely check it out.

The Fearless Travellers Guide to Wicked Places by Pete Begler

Set in a very intriguing world, filled with ghastly and imaginative creatures, and with lots of magical elements. I was so sure I was going to fall in love with this fairytale-esque story…. But I didn’t. Around halfway through I became rather disenchanted with it all. There was A LOT of absurdity going on, for example entering a bowl of soup with a piece of bread as a canoe and a spoon as an oar to transport you to where you need to go, which I’m sure kids will love but for me it was a tad OTT.

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby is a true gem of magical realism. It’s a bit of a slow burner but beautifully written and definitely worth a read. Moondust by Gemma Fowler is a sci-fi thriller that won’t make it onto my favourites list as I found it quite predictable. Still makes for a good read but wouldn’t prioritise this if it’s on your TBR shelf. Waking in Time by Angie Stanton was one I couldn’t get into at all. Not one for me I’m afraid. Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins is another one that fell just a bit short of the mark for me. Although a good read it didn’t grab me hook, line and sinker like I expected to.

Leave a Reply

