Seven Simple Bookish Experiences That Delight Me

You may have noticed I’m a bit behind with this weeks Top Ten Tuesday due to so much going on right now! However, I absolutely HAD to post and share with you some of the many reasons I love reading! Can anyone else relate to any of these?

1) Looking at my TBR Pile

book collecting

Is it just me or does looking at what’s in your To Be Read pile give you a wonderful feeling? The bigger the stack the better! I know that I have lots of new worlds and lives to discover, characters who I will love with a passion or hate with a vengeance or want to be best friends with. I wish I could consume them all!

2) Taking Books with Me Everywhere

takeiteverywhere

I love that I can take books anywhere and everywhere and my imagination still gives me the same extraordinary experience. I don’t need signal, batteries or a good Internet connection. It won’t break if I drop it, has no annoying screen crack and is easily transportable. In the car on a long journey, train on a commute, by the pool on holiday, in the bed, in the bath (although this has ended badly once or twice!). Having a book on me at all times means that I always have great companionship!

3) Fantastic One-liners and Quotes

I love opening lines that grab your attention immediately whether it be a hilarious opener of something that makes you shudder. It sets the scene for the rest of the book and can raise your expectations of a book. Here are just a few examples that I pulled off the self.

‘Sexual responsibility is boring.’ – Martians by Blythe Woolston

‘So here’s the file that almost killed me, Director.’ – Illuminae by Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff

‘You are food.  Those muscles you flex to walk, lift, and talk? They’re patties of meat topped with chewy tendon.’ – Trollhunters by Guillermo del Toro

‘When my death came it was swift. Swift as a racing horse. It wasted no time.’ – The Dog, Ray by Linda Coggin

Also, literature provides us with beautiful pieces of writing that can really mean something to you. When I find quotes that really move me I want to print them off or write them down so I can stick them some where I can read them everyday.

‘Courage. Kindness. Friendship. Character. These are the qualities that define us as human beings, and propel us, on occasion, to greatness.’ – Wonder by R.J Palacio

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.” –  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

“In the stories of old, a hero is the one who sweeps in with a drawn sword and noble face, to kill the Dragon and free the princess. In the stories of old it never seems to dawn on the princess that she should be careful not to put herself at mercy of those who would do her ill in the first place. I don’t live in the stories of old.” – The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

4) Learning something new!

bookscanchangetheworld

Not only do books teach us our language, literacy and empathy skills but they also feed us little bits of random factual knowledge. You can learn anything from a good book. From historical facts (The Dark Days Club gives us a perfect picture of regency London) or science facts (I love how The Many worlds of Albie Bright breaks down the complex concept of quantum physics) to mind-blowingly good songs, other brilliant books, films, fashion tips, other languages etc.. That is the beauty of a book – you never know what you will learn next!

5) Going to a Bookstore

bookstore

Although I work with books everyday I still can’t get enough of going in to bookshops, both new and second-hand. There is something about them that makes me feel content and blissful. The smell of books, the look of them all arranged neatly or higgledy-piggledy, the different feel of the covers, getting excited of new releases, getting excited over old favourites – it all makes me smile.

6) Beautiful Jackets & Spines

Despite being a strong advocate for never judge a book by its cover I still gush over stunning jackets. Who doesn’t love a sensational jacket or a coloured spine? Pretty books are a wonder to behold and make them all the more desirable to the reader. Got any that you particularly love? Send them over, I would love to see some more.

7) Uncovering a Hidden Gem

readinggetout

I seriously enjoy reading everyone’s views on books that are on my TBR list but occasionally I pick up a gem right out of the blue that I have not one clue about, not even having read the blurb. Within a few chapters you end up getting so sucked in you take a social hiatus, barricading yourself in amongst a duvet with a pile of pillows and plenty of snacks. Any interruption will be immediately screamed at ‘LEAVE ME ALONE, I’M READING SOMETHING REALLY, REALLY IMPORTANT THAT IS CHANGING MY LIFE.’

Leave a Reply

