National Pet Month: Introducing Dexter and April’s TBR

IMG_0390

Meet Dexter. This cutie has been in my life for nearly nine years now. He’s a crazy, typical Boxer and the friendliest doggy you will ever meet. He still acts like a puppy even though in human years he’d be in his mid-sixties. Since it’s National Pet Month I
thought I’d do a special post with a slightly ambitious idea: Dexter can somehow choose the next book off my April TBR list. Not going to lie, I wasn’t sure how this would work or if it was even possible as Dexter is very rarely obedient!  It’s hard enough just keeping him out of trouble, stopping him chewing things or slobbering on things. I thought I had set myself a tough challenge.

IMG_0402

The Books on my April TBR Shelf

1. A Thousand Nights by E.K Johnston

How gorgeous is the cover of this book?! Simple but striking. I’ve read many good things about it on various blogs so I can’t wait to get reading this one.

2. How Not to Disappear by Claire Furniss

I’m so excited to see another book from this author. Her previous title, Year of the Rat, had  a HUGE emotional effect on me. I’m really looking forward to this one. Hopefully when I’ve finished I’ll get the review up before the paperback is out in July.

IMG_0410

3. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

I’m a bit behind on this, all the die-hard fans have already read it so I should get moving! It’s a big brick of a book but I heard it is so worth it.

4. Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo

I am super thrilled to read Kate’s new novel – she writes in a way that totally immerses you into the story and its surroundings. I picked up The Miraculous Tale of Edward Tulane thinking it will be your average nine to twelve middle grade fiction but I was totally blown away by the beauty in her writing. It soon became one of my favourites so I’m sure I will enjoy this one.

5. Pax by Sara Pennypacker

I haven’t heard much about this title which I love! I normally go into a book knowing quite a bit about either from publishers or other bloggers but this is a total blank. the artwork is stunning!

6. Rebel, Bully, Geek, Pariah by Erin Lange

I am partial to a good title and this one had me immediately picking it up as well the simple and cool cover. Plus Erin Lange! If you haven’t read Butter or Dead Ends yet then you really need to go and get yourself copies.

7. The Shadow Keeper by Abi Elphinstone

Follow up to The Dreamsnatcher (I call this the Oracle Bones in my head as that’s what the manuscript came to me titles as) and I keep asking myself ‘HOW HAVE I NOT READ THIS YET?’ Dreamsnatcher was an original and enthralling read so I hope this one measures up.

8. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

This book has comes with a wealth of recommendations and has been featured on many blog sites so I must pick it up this month as I’m sure it’s going to blow my mind!

It turned out it wasn’t that difficult to get Dexter to do what I wanted after all. I had forgotten the important fact that he would do absolutely anything for food. With the sight of a treat and some encouragement from his personal audience he got the hang of the idea pretty quickly! After a few practice runs we were ready to go.

 

 

 

 

 

Result: The Serpent King

I think we can agree that dexter did quite well – apart from a leaving bits of slobber on the books bleugh! Has anyone else read The Serpent King? Or anything else on my April TBR? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

